Meher Baba copyright 1987 Charlie Mills


Lord Meher

Advanced Search

Browse By Page

Browse By Year



Terms of Use



Go To Previous PageGo To Next Page

Baba came to see the women, and led them to a spot near Nonny's grave, where he stated Warrior should be buried. When the pit was dug, Baba helped with the burial.

Elizabeth was feeling sad, and in the evening Baba sent her a message: "Be happy. Warrior has come to me." But no one knew how special Warrior really was until Baba explained it to them the next day:

Elizabeth, listen carefully, and you will be proud of Warrior's share in my work. What I am telling you is the truth, and I am not saying it just to please you. As a matter of fact, Avatars, Sadgurus and Masters never reveal their way of working. If they do so, it entails more work for them. The Sufis say, "One who has found the Truth, hides it eternally." And it is absolutely so. This means that one who is God-realized never reveals the Truth in ordinary words.

God's work is hidden work, the same as the Perfect Masters' secret work. But today I will give you an inkling of how their work is done from the case of Warrior. First, you all must understand that just as there are seven planes of consciousness — seven spiritual states — so also are there seven states of understanding. It is always seven. The number seven is the divine number. The seven understandings are:

1. Instinct
2. Intellect
3. Inspiration
4. Intuition
5. Insight
6. Illumination
7. Realization

Instinct governs the animal world; intellect, humans; inspiration for those humans whose feelings are developed — like poets and artists. Intuition is for those advanced souls who have conscious visions and understanding true to the point. What you understand by intuition is always true. What you understand by intellect is sometimes true and sometimes not.

Souls on the fourth and fifth planes have insight; their understanding is direct, without thinking with the mind. Illumination means seeing God as He is. The understanding is divine. Realization is understanding oneself as God.

During the process of evolution of forms and consciousness, there are seven turns until the human form develops. Now, every turn has a direct connection with God. We will not now mention the other six turnings; for instance, in the vegetable kingdom, tulsi [the holy basil plant] is on the turning. In the animal kingdom, a dog is on the turning, as it has intuition and also partial insight, without being able to use it consciously.

Go To Previous PageGo To Next Page